Brazilian Football Players to win Ballon d’or

As we all know, the Ballon d’or is an annual football award presented by French news magazine France football that is one of the oldest and generally regarded as the most prestigious individual award for football players.

Here is the list of Brazilian playersvwho have won the prestigious award and the clubs they represented respectively.

List of Brazilian players to win Ballon d’or

  1. De Lima Ronaldo (inter Milan)
  2. Rivaldo (Barcelona FC)
  3. Ronaldinho (Barcelona FC)
  4. Kaka (A.C. Milan)

1. Ronaldo Luis Nazario de Lima:

Brazilian Football Players to win Ballon d'or 2

Ronaldo who was born 18th September 1976. He is currently the owner and president of La liga club Real Valladolid and a retired professional footballer who played as a striker. Ronaldo is considered one of the greatest players of all time by so many people. He started his career at Cruzeiro and later moved to PSV, he joined Barcelona for then world record fee. In 1997, inter Milan came calling with a world record fee to sign him, where he eventually won his first Ballon d’or, in the year 1997, as the first Brazilian player to win the award. He won the award for the second time with Real Madrid in the year 2002. Making him the only Brazilian to win Ballon d’or twice till date. He had spells at AC Milan and Conrinthians before retiring in 2011. He scored 62 goals for Brazil in 98 matches, and is the second-highest goalscorer after the great and legendary Pele.

2. Rivaldo Vitor Barbosa Ferreira:

Brazilian Football Players to win Ballon d'or 3

was born 19 April 1972. He is considered as one of the best players of his generation, and also one of the best of all time. Rivaldo played for so many clubs in his career. But it was in Barcelona he won the prestigious award in the year 1999. He spent five(5) years with FC Barcelona and won series of trophies with the Catalunya. His three(3) goals against Valencia in june 2001 which qualified Barcelona for the champions league, the last goal of which was a last minute 20-yard bicycle kick winner, a hat-trick which is still ranked as one of the greatest hat-trick ever.

3. Ronaldo de Assis Moreira:

Brazilian Football Players to win Ballon d'or 4

popularly known as Ronaldinho Gaucho. Was born on 21 March 1980. He was previledged to play in top European top-flight clubs, such as PSG, AC Milan, and Barcelona where he won the award in the year 2005. Ronaldinho is often opted as the best dribbler the game has produced alongside, Jay Jay Okocha, Lionel Messi, C. Ronaldo, Ronaldo de Lima and many other great footballers. He made his career debut with Gremio in 1998, he moved to PSG where he played with one of the best dribbler the world has seen, in the person of Jay Jay Okocha before moving to Barcelona where he later became the club icon, till Messi overtook him. He scored 33 goals in 97 appearances for his Brazil national team.

4. Ricardo izecson dis Santos Leite:

Brazilian Football Players to win Ballon d'or 5

popularly known as Kaka, was born 22 April 1982. You can’t talk of AC Milan without mentioning Kaka. Kaka made his club debut with Sao Paulo in Brazil in 2001, he joined series A club AC Milan where he won everything, including the 2007 UEFA champions league. He later joined Real Madrid for a fee of €67 million, this was the second highest transfer fee at the time behind Zinedine Zidane. But injury obstructed him to reach his best form with Madrid, and later went back to AC Milan where he spent only a season before moving to USA MLS expansion club Orlando city. Kaka scored 29 goals in 92 matches with Brazil national team.

  • Leave a Comment